# **Big Jackson Public Schools**



BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

October 8, 2024 7:00 P.M.

# UNOFFICIAL

Members present: Michelle Ruelle, Sue Jones, Charlotte Lockerby, Lynn Ulman, Laura Johnson (late)

Visitors present: Linda Van Houten, Mark Dobias, Hillary Cobb

- I. CALL TO ORDER by President Ruelle at 7:00 PM
- II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE was recited.

#### III. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion by Jones, supported by Ulman to amend the agenda wording of action items b. 4 Yes 0 No Motion carried.

Motion by Jones, supported by Ulman to amend the agenda moving Board Communication above Action Items. 4 Yes 0 No

Motion carried.

Motion by Jones, supported by Johnson to approve the amended agenda. 4 Yes 0 No Motion carried.

### IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Jones, supported by Johnson to approve September 25, 2024 special meeting minutes as presented. 5 Yes 0 No Motion carried.

#### V. LEADERSHIP REPORT

- a. Audit report by Rehmann -via Zoom
- b. Financial Services Provider with Don Sovey -via Zoom
- c. Proposed Hourly Contract

#### VI. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Interview Ron Veldman for Superintendent position

## VII. CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS

Motion by Jones, supported by Ulman to approve the payment current invoices.

5 Yes 0 No Motion carried.

VIII. **BOARD COMMUNICATION** Board President recommends approval of: contract for hourly services with Linda Van Houten, Financial Services agreement with Stephenson & Company, and contract agreement with Ron Veldman.

#### IX. ACTION ITEMS

- a. Motion by Jones, supported by Ulman to approve the hourly contract for Linda Van Houten.
  5 Yes
  0 No Motion carried.
- b. Motion by Johnson, supported by Ulman to authorize the Board President to enter into a contract with Ron Veldman.
  5 Yes
  0 No Motion carried.
- c. Motion by Johnson, supported by Ulman to approve the financial contract with Cynthia Scott of Stephenson & Company.
  5 Yes
  0 No Motion carried.

#### X. ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Johnson, supported by Ulman to adjourn the meeting at 8:33 PM 5 Yes 0 No Motion carried.

Michelle Ruelle, President

Laura M. Johnson, Secretary